2nd LiveSmart BC Green Cities Awards Announced


Civic Info BC

Sat, 09/27/2008

Nine outstanding local governments and two community partners have been selected as recipients of the provincial government’s second annual LiveSmart BC Green Cities Awards for demonstrating leadership and innovation in sustainability. Premier Gordon Campbell announced the winning communities, sharing $475,000 in award funding, at the Union of BC Municipalities annual convention in Penticton.

“These awards are just one of the ways in which the Province is recognizing communities who are taking action on climate change and reducing greenhouse gas emissions,” said Premier Campbell. “I congratulate every finalist for working hard to build vibrant, livable and sustainable communities that generations of tomorrow will be proud of.”

The 2008 LiveSmart BC Green Cities Award winners showed excellence across a wide range of criteria, including livability, actions to address climate change, innovation and transferability. The winners are:

  • Population 0-1,499: Taylor ($25,000);
  • Population 1,500-4,999: Grand Forks ($25,000);
  • Population 5,000-9,999: Smithers ($25,000);
  • Population 10,000-24,999: Dawson Creek ($50,000);
  • Population 25,000-99,999: Prince George ($100,000);
  • Population 100,000+: Surrey ($100,000);
  • Regional District (Regional): Capital Regional District ($50,000); and
  • Partnership Award: City of Victoria and Dockside Green Ltd., and District of Sechelt and Sunshine Coast Association for Community Living ($50,000 for each community).

“The LiveSmart BC Green Cities Awards highlight the significant and lasting impact local governments can have on the future of British Columbia,” said Community Development Minister Blair Lekstrom. “This year’s finalists and award recipients are role models for other local governments who are interested in creating better communities in which to live, work and play.”

Click here for more information.